USDA Egg Sizes and Grades

By : | Comments Off on USDA Egg Sizes and Grades | On : April 2, 2013 | Category : General Information

Carton of 18 Eggs

In the United States the Department of Agriculture establishes regulations regarding egg grades and sizes.

Eggs are sold to consumers in four sizes; medium, large, extra large and jumbo and sorted by weight:

Size Weight (g) Weight (oz)
Medium 50 1.75
Large 57 2.0
X-Large 64 2.25
Jumbo 71 2.5

Each size is available in three grades; AA, A and B. Most supermarkets and grocers sell grade AA eggs to consumers. The whites of grade AA eggs firmer than grade A eggs which are used by most fast-food restaurants that serve eggs scrambled or formed for sandwiches.